West Indies fight back but India get 279 after Kohli’s 120


India chose to bat v West Indies

Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat in the second match of the three-ODI series in Port-of-Spain, reasoning that the Queen’s Park Oval pitch would slow down in the second half.

India fielded the same XI as in the washed-out first ODI, with Kohli confirming that Rishabh Pant would bat at No. 4 and Shreyas Iyer at No. 5, though he did say that the two batsmen might swap positions if the match situation calls for it.

West Indies were forced to make one change to their XI – Oshane Thomas replaced the unwell Fabian Allen.

This will be Chris Gayle’s 300th ODI. He became the first West Indies player to reach the milestone, surpassing Brian Lara’s tally of 299. Incidentally, Gayle (10,397) is also nine runs away from overtaking Lara’s 10,405 ODI runs, the most by a West Indies batsman.

West Indies: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Evin Lewis, 3 Shai Hope (wk), 4 Shimron Hetmyer, 5 Nicholas Pooran, 6 Roston Chase, 7 Jason Holder (capt), 8 Carlos Brathwaite, 9 Sheldon Cottrell, 10 Kemar Roach, 11 Oshane Thomas

India: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Rishabh Pant (wk), 5 Shreyas Iyer, 6 Kedar Jadhav, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9 Mohammed Shami, 10 Khaleel Ahmed, 11 Kuldeep Yadav

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Selector Bailey ready to talk the talk
Moeen Ali ‘by no means certain’ to tour Sri Lanka – Ed Smith
Time to make South African cricket ‘great again’ after off-field problems – Faf du Plessis
Fawad Alam returns to Pakistan’s Test squad for Sri Lanka series
No total big enough if you field like that – Virat Kohli

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *