Steven Smith’s masterclass gives Australia series lead


Pakistan opted to bat v Australia

Pakistan elected to bat against Australia after winning the toss in the second T20I at the Manuka Oval. Both sides were unchanged from the first game, which ended in a no result after Australia had opted to bowl.

While Australia fielding the same side was largely in line with expectations, Pakistan proceeding with the same eleven was a slight surprise. Mohammad Irfan and Fakhar Zaman’s places in the side were under some scrutiny following a torrid day in Sydney on Sunday, with both aware they may be playing on borrowed time.

A win for either side would ensure they wouldn’t lose the three-match series. Australia haven’t lost a game in this format in 2019, having won five on the bounce before the first T20I. Pakistan, on the other hand, will look to break a four-match losing streak; their last victory came against South Africa in February.

Australia: 1 David Warner 2 Aaron Finch (capt) 3 Steve Smith 4 Ben McDermott, 5 Ashton Turner 6 Alex Carey (wk) 7 Ashton Agar 8 Pat Cummins 9 Mitchell Starc 10 Adam Zampa 11 Kane Richardson

Pakistan: 1 Babar Azam (capt), 2 Fakhar Zaman, 3 Haris Sohail, 4 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 5 Asif Ali, 6 Imad Wasim, 7 Iftikhar Ahmed, 8 Wahab Riaz 9 Shadab Khan, 10 Mohammad Amir, 11 Mohammad Irfan

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *