Sri Lanka drop Chandimal for South Africa tour, Karunaratne made captain

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka have left out Dinesh Chandimal from the Test squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa, and handed the captaincy to Dimuth Karunaratne. According to an SLC release, Chandimal has been released to play domestic cricket and regain his form with the bat. Chandimal had scored only 24 runs in four innings in the recently concluded Tests against Australia.

There were wholesale changes in the squad, with the selectors announcing a 17-member team for the Tests. Dilruwan Perera and Roshen Silva, who were part of the squad for the Australia tour, were also left out. Of the 17-member squad, eight have played five Tests or fewer.

The two-Test series begins in Durban on February 13.

Sri Lanka squad: 01) Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Niroshan Dickwella, (v-capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Milinda Siriwardana, Dhananjaya De Silva, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne, Mohamed Shiraz, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Embuldeniya

More to follow

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *