South Africa hold nerve after Babar Azam 90 to seal series



Imad Wasim is congratulated after breaking the opening stand © AFP

Toss Pakistan opted to bowl v South Africa

On an overcast day at the Wanderers, Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik opted to bowl for the second consecutive game. Malik called the weather “the main element” and decided to put South Africa in with rain expected later on. A dry pitch with little grass on would allow the visitors a little more clarity about the way they should pace their innings, particularly if the DLS method comes into play. One change has been made to the side in what is a must-win game for Pakistan, with Faheem Ashraf making way for Shaheen Afridi.

South Africa, also with a stand-in captain in David Miller (with Faf du Plessis rested), agreed he would have bowled first too. Saying they could do little about the weather, the Man-of-the-Match from the previous game was more focused on putting the thought out of their minds, and looking to finish the innings better than they had done in Cape Town. Debutants Lutho Sipamla and Janneman Malan come into the team, replacing du Plessis and Gihahn Cloete.

Pakistan must win this game to keep alive a world-record streak of series wins in T20Is. It currently stands at 11.

South Africa: Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller(capt), Heinrich Klaasen(wk), Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi

Pakistan: Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Hussain Talat, Shoaib Malik (capt), Asif Ali, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Shinwari, Hasan Ali

Danyal Rasool is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. @Danny61000

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.