Pakistan’s hopes of hosting home Tests dented as 10 Sri Lanka players withdraw


In a major blow to international cricket being brought back to Pakistan, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Suranga Lakmal, Dinesh Chandimal and Dimuth Karunaratne have all pulled out of the upcoming tour that includes three ODIs and as many T20Is, starting September 27.

SLC held a meeting on Monday with the players who were part of the preliminary squad for the tour, to inform them about the security arrangements in Pakistan and to find out their decision – whether to tour or not – before the selectors finalised the squads. An SLC release stated chairman of selectors Asantha de Mel told the players they “will be given the freedom to decide on either taking part or not in the forthcoming Pakistan tour,” before the players made their decision.

More to follow…

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

South Africa looking at de Kock as captaincy option for T20 World Cup
Pakistan tour withdrawal: CPL NOC trouble for Dickwella, Thisara
Late Wicket Dents England’s Ashes Hopes | The Ashes Day 3 Highlights | Fourth Specsavers Test 2019
Archer and Curran dismantle Australia to earn valuable lead
Dhoni – present and absent in Kohli’s India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *