New Zealand pull off narrow win after Thisara Perera’s 140

Sri Lanka

Toss New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat v Sri Lanka

New Zealand have won the toss and chosen to bat for the second successive match at Mt. Maunganui, on another surface expected to aid batsmen.

Strangely, although it had been the hosts who won the first match comfortably, it is they who have made a change to their XI. Fast bowler Lockie Ferguson exits the XI, with captain Kane Williamson citing a heavy workload for Ferguson as the reason for his omission. Tim Southee comes back into the team in his place.

Sri Lanka, meanwhile, have persisted with the same XI, which means that Dasun Shanaka remains out of the XI, and Seekkuge Prasanna, Asela Gunaratne and Thisara Perera all play together as allrounders in the lower middle order.

The weather is expected to remain good for the duration of the encounter. Having lost the first match, Sri Lanka must win this game to keep the three-match series alive.

New Zealand: 1 Colin Munro, 2 Martin Guptill, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Henry Nicholls, 6 James Neesham, 7 Tim Seifert (wk), 8 Tim Southee, 9 Matt Henry, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Trent Boult

Sri Lanka: 1 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 2 Danushka Gunathilaka, 3 Dinesh Chandimal, 4 Kusal Mendis, 5 Kusal Perera, 6 Asela Gunaratne, 7 Seekuge Prasanna, 8 Thisara Perera, 9 Lakshan Sandakan, 10 Lasith Malinga (capt), 11 Nuwan Pradeep

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *