Mominul Haque named captain for Tests, Mustafizur Rahman returns


Amid the turbulence of the player strike and Shakib Al Hasan‘s ban, BCB has announced their revised squads for the T20I and Test series in India in November. The big changes are at the top – Mominul Haque is Bangladesh’s captain for the Tests and Mahmudullah takes over as captain in T20Is.

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam replaced Shakib in the T20I squad, while Abu Hider replaced allrounder Mohammad Saifuddin, who was ruled out last week due to a recurring back injury. Mohammed Mithun has also been drafted in for Tamim Iqbal, who was previously replaced by Imrul Kayes after opting out to stay home with his wife for the birth of their second child. Kayes has, however, been named in the Test squad. He currently leads the run-scoring charts in the National Cricket League (NCL).

ALSO READ: Shakib banned from all cricket for failing to report bookie’s approach

New Test captain Mominul will also have left-arm seamer Mustafizur Rahman available to pick, as the seamer came in for Taskin Ahmed. Mustafizur last played a Test in March 2019, on Bangladesh’s curtailed tour of New Zealand. Fellow seamer Al-Amin Hossain also returned to the squad after last playing a Test in October 2014. His last Bangladesh appearance was in March 2016.

Twenty-year-old top-order batsman Saif Hassan has broken into a senior squad for the first time on the back of a strong showing in the NCL and on an ‘A’ tour of Sri Lanka. Hassan has made two hundreds and a fifty in his last four innings in October – a List A hundred against Sri Lanka, and innings of 220* and 72 for Dhaka Division. He averages 46.18 in 36 first-class matches since his debut in 2015.

T20I squad: Mahmudullah (capt), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Arafat Sunny, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam, Abu Hider

Test squad: Shadman Islam, Imrul Kayes, Saif Hassan, Mominul Haque (capt), Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Abu Jayed, Ebadat Hossain

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *