Mohammed Shami runs through New Zealand openers


New Zealand chose to bat v India

New Zealand chose to test India in a chase in the first match of the series, which is also the latest trend in New Zealand: in two of their three ODIs against Sri Lanka, the hosts won the toss and decided to bat first. They won both the games.

With the introduction of allrounder Vijay Shakar to the squad, India were back to playing both their wristspinners in the XI for the first time since the Asia Cup final back in September 2018. Dinesh Karthik, who played an important part in the series win in Australia, missed out to accommodate the allrounder.

New Zealand chose to go without their wristspinner Ish Sodhi. Instead New Zealand picked Doug Bracewell as their seam-bowling allrounder adding heft to an already hefty batting line-up.

In Jasprit Bumrah’s absence, Mohammed Shami joined Bhuvneshwar Kumar as the specialist seam bowlers with Shankar and Jadhav expected to play the fifth bowler’s role.

New Zealand, on the other hand, went in with four frontline quicks: Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Bracewell. Mitchell Santner was their lone spinner.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt.), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Henry Nicholls, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Doug Bracewell, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 10 Trent Boult

India 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli (capt.), 4 Ambati Rayudu, 5 MS Dhoni (wk), 6 Kedar Jadhav, 7 Vijay Shankar, 8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Mohammed Shami, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal.

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *