Lewis 89, Paul five-for help West Indies clinch T20I series

West Indies


Shakib Al Hasan steers the ball towards the leg side © AFP

Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan has decided to field first against West Indies in the third and deciding T20I in Dhaka. The visitors have brought in debutant Sherfane Rutherfordin place of Darren Bravo, in a bid to to salvage something from this tour, with Bangladesh having wrapped up the Test and the ODI series. After West Indies won the first T20I, the hosts hit back in the second, thanks to Shakib’s all-round performance, to force the series into a decider.

Bravo has been lacklustre in the limited-overs leg of the tour, having made just 58 runs in five games. Rutherford, the 20-year old left-handed batsman, is known for his power-hitting, which was on full display in the Caribbean Premier League earlier this year.

The home side meanwhile remains unchanged as they continue to give left-arm pacer Abu Hider a longer go.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Liton Das, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Shakib Al Hasan (capt), 5 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Ariful Haque, 8 Mohammad Saifuddin, 9 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 10 Abu Hider, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

West Indies: 1 Evin Lewis, 2 Shai Hope (wk), 3 Nicholas Pooran, 4 Sherfane Rutherford, 5 Shimron Hetmyer, 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Carlos Brathwaite (capt), 8 Keemo Paul, 9 Fabian Allen, 10 Oshane Thomas, 11 Sheldon Cottrell

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *