Karunaratne sparkles for Sri Lanka on rain-hit day

New Zealand
Dilruwan Perera celebrates a breakthrough © Associated Press

Toss Sri Lanka chose to bat v New Zealand

Sri Lanka’s captain Dimuth Karunaratne won the toss and opted to bat in the second Test against New Zealand at the P Sara Oval after a persistent drizzle had wiped out the entire morning session. The hosts made one change, recalling a fit-again Dilruwan Perera in place of Akila Dananjaya, who risks suspension after being reported for suspect action for a second time in ten months.

ALSO READ: Williamson and Karunaratne, two ends of the control spectrum

New Zealand, too, made a solitary change, breaking up their three-man spin attack and bringing in seam-bowling allrounder Colin de Grandhomme in place of Mitchell Santner on a grassy track.

Play was slated to begin at 1.40pm local time and could be extended up to 6pm, weather permitting.

Currently placed second in the Test rankings, New Zealand will drop a place (or places, based on results in the Ashes) if they don’t square the series in Colombo.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lahiru Kumara

New Zealand: Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling(wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, William Somerville, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult

Deivarayan Muthu is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Lockie Ferguson not rushing return from calf injury
Waqar Hasan, last link to Pakistan’s inaugural Test XI, dies at 87
Was confident Jess Jonassen ‘would get the job done’ – Meg Lanning
‘India top order should bat 20 overs’ – Smriti Mandhana
The buzz in Bangladesh – Under-19 world champions are the toast of the town

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *