Fifties from Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant haul India to 287


West Indies opted to bowl against India

After winning the toss in the series opener, West Indies captain Kieron Pollard left home captain Virat Kohli surprised by choosing to field on a surface that Kohli felt was dry and liable to break during the first innings. Pollard said he didn’t know what to expect from a relaid surface, so he made that decision.

West Indies had to give a break to Ewin Lewis after he injured his knee during the final T20I on Wednesday. While Roston Chase came in as a spinning allrounder, specialist spinner Khary Pierre made way for Keemo Paul. Alzarri Joseph and Sunil Ambris, too, made it to the XI.

India continued with their ploy of not playing both the two wristspinners together. Kuldeep Yadav got the nod ahead of Yuzvendra Chahal here with Ravindra Jadeja and possibly Kedar Jadhav serving as other spinners. After his maiden international fifty during the T20I series, Shivam Dube earned himself an ODI debut too.

India 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 KL Rahul, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), Shreyas Iyer, 5 Rishabh Pant (wk), 6 Kedar Jadhav, 7 Shivam Dube, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Deepak Chahar, 11 Mohammed Shami

West Indies 1 Shai Hope, 2 Sunil Ambris, 3 Shimron Hetmyer, 4 Nicholas Pooran (wk), 5 Roston Chase, 6 Kieron Pollard (capt), 7 Jason Holder, 8 Keemo Paul, 9 Hayden Walsh, 10 Alzarri Joseph, 11 Sheldon Cottrell

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *