Ben Duckett, Dawid Malan, James Vince called up in wake of Alex Hales’ axing


Ben Duckett and Dawid Malan will join England’s ODI squad for Friday’s match against Ireland and a T20 clash with Pakistan on Sunday, while James Vince will enter the squad for the upcoming five-game one-day series with Pakistan.

Their inclusions come in the wake of Alex Hales‘ axing and an untimely injury to opening batsman Jason Roy.

Hales was withdrawn from all England squads ahead of the international season following his 21-day ban for using recreational drugs.

Malan was part of England’s touring party to the Caribbean at the start of this year, although he did not play, and he made an unbeaten 160 in Middlesex’s County Championship season opener. Duckett played the last of his three ODIs in 2016. He top scored with 86 as Nottinghamshire reached 433 for 7 in a Royal London Cup match against Leicestershire last week.

Vince, who was originally selected for the Ireland ODI and the T20I against Pakistan, was added to England’s squad for the ODIs against Pakistan after scoring a career-best 190 for Hampshire in their Royal London Cup victory over Gloucestershire last week.

While none of the three have been included in England’s preliminary 15-man squad for the World Cup, the upcoming matches against Ireland and Pakistan represent an opportunity for all players involved to press their case for selection before the squad is finalised on May 23.

Roy suffered a hamstring injury during England’s tour of West Indies in February and, shortly into his comeback with Surrey, was troubled by back spasms. He will continue to receive treatment before meeting up with the England squad ahead of the first ODI agianst Pakistan at the the Kia Oval on May 8.

Fast bowler Mark Wood also withdrew from the squad for the ODI against Ireland and T20I against Pakistan. He will play two Royal London Cup matches for Durham before joining the England squad in London next week for the Pakistan ODI series.

England 13-man squad for Ireland ODI and Pakistan T20I: Eoin Morgan, Jofra Archer, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, James Vince, David Willey.

England 17-man squad for Pakistan ODI series: Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

‘We played a few too many shots because of the turn’ – Craig Ervine
Azam Khan, Mohammad Hasnain propel Quetta Gladiators to win
Keshav Maharaj in, Faf du Plessis rested for South Africa’s ODIs against Australia
Joe Root backs Kookaburra ball in County Championship
Quinton de Kock stumped for answers as South Africa fluff their lines again

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *