Bangladesh bat, Martin Guptill and Lockie Ferguson return for New Zealand



Tamim Iqbal gets under a bouncer © AFP

Toss Bangladesh elected to bat v New Zealand

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza elected to bat first against New Zealand in the first ODI at McLean Park in Napier. Sabbir Rahman returned for the visitors, after his ban had been reduced by the BCB to bring him back to the ODI squad. It is his first ODI since July last year.

Bangladesh are without Shakib Al Hasan who sustained a finger injury during the BPL final. Shakib is the only one missing out from the Bangladesh side that played its last ODI in December against the West Indies.

New Zealand have gone for three frontline fast bowlers as they included Lockie Ferguson in place of legspinner Todd Astle. They also included Jimmy Neesham and Colin de Grandhomme, going with only Mitchell Santner as the specialist spinner. Tim Southee was benched again.

Martin Guptill meanwhile returns for the home side, replacing Colin Munro who played in the fifth ODI against India in place of Guptill.

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Henry Nicholls, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Jimmy Neesham, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Lockie Ferguson, 10 Matt Henry, 11 Trent Boult

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Liton Das, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Mohammad Mithun, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Mohammad Saifuddin, 9 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 10 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *