Abbas returns in Pakistan’s quest for consolation win


Toss Pakistan opt to field Australia

For the second game running, Pakistan put Australia into bat. This is in quest to prevent a 5-0 whitewash that will complete a successful Asian sojourn for the visitors, who beat India 3-2 earlier this month.

Imad Wasim, who takes charge of Pakistan again in Shoaib Malik’s absence, hoped his side could control the chase, much like they did for large parts of the fourth ODI, which they eventually lost despite having two centurions.

Pakistan made one change, with young fast bowler Mohammad Hasnain sitting out to bring in Mohammad Abbas.

Australia are looking to inflict their fifth-ever whitewash in a five-match ODI series. Jason Behrendorff, the left-arm fast bowler, replaced Nathan Coulter-Nile. Their top seven remained unchanged in what will be their final ODI before the World Cup.

Pakistan: 1 Shan Masood 2 Abid Ali, 3 Haris Sohail, 4 Umar Akmal 5 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 6 Saad Ali 7 Imad Wasim (capt), 8 Yasir Shah, 9 Usman Shinwari, 10 Junaid Khan 11 Mohammad Abbas

Australia: 1 Usman Khawaja 2 Aaron Finch (capt) 3 Peter Handscomb 4 Shaun Marsh 5 Marcus Stoinis 6 Glenn Maxwell 7 Alex Carey (wk) 8 Jason Behrendorff 9 Kane Richardson 10 Nathan Lyon 11 Adam Zampa

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *